Etikettarkiv: Madame Bovary

Vad har Lena Dunham för böcker i hyllan?

Lena Dunham är känd från teve och är väldigt aktuell med boken Not That Kind of Girl. Om du undrar vad hon har i sin bokhylla kan du kika här. Det är visserligen en virtuell bokhylla på The Strand Bookstores hemsida, men det är en virtuell bokhylla med ett väldigt inspirerande innehåll.

I bokhyllan står väntade titlar av författare som Sylvia Plath, Edna O’Brien och Alice Munro, men också mindre självklara av författare som Gustave Flaubert, Philip Roth och Lydia Davis samt många av yngre författare som Zadie Smith och Sheila Heti. Urvalet är sällsynt roligt och varierat.

Ola Wihlke

Lämna en kommentar

Under Notiser

Gustave Flaubert var inte realist

Wikimedia Commons

Wikimedia Commons

”The difficult task that Brown has set himself, nowhere stated but everywhere pursued in this vigorously researched, intellectually nuanced, and exquisitely written book, is to challenge the long-standing view that Flaubert started out as a Romantic writer in the vein of Chateaubriand or Lamartine, underwent a violent ‘purge’ at the insistence of two wise friends, and was miraculously transformed into a Realist with the writing of Madame Bovary. […] The old Penguin translations by Robert Baldick carry a succinct version of the myth: ‘In his early works … Flaubert tended to give free rein to his flamboyant imagination, but on the advice of his friends he later disciplined his romantic exuberance in an attempt to achieve total objectivity and a harmonious prose style.'”

Citerat ur ”Gustave Flaubert Was Not A Realist” av Christopher Benfey i New Republic, 22 maj 2006. Tidskriften har grävt fram en gammal recension av en Flaubert-biografi, en riktig hyllning, som verkar vara något av ett standardverk. Artikeln har delats ovanligt mycket för att vara en recension av en så smal bok, men det var ju en sensationell rubrik.

Ola Wihlke G Not A Realist

Lämna en kommentar

Under Recensioner

Hur nyttigt är det att läsa, egentligen?

”With the foundation of Sex and Love Addicts Anonymous in 1976, reading became the last thing you can never do too often. Even the much-made argument that works of literature – Northanger Abbey, Madame Bovary – insist on the dangers of literature redounds to literature’s benefit, and provides yet another reason for reading.”

Citerat ur ”Living life by the book: why reading isn’t always good for you” av Leo Robson i New Statesman 20 mars 2014.

Robson tar en skeptisk titt på argumenten i fyra nya böcker som predikar läsningens välsignelser: The Unexpected Professor: an Oxford Life in Books (Faber & Faber) av John Carey, Reading and the Reader: The Literary Agenda (OUP) av Philip Davis, Why I Read: the Serious Pleasure of Books (Farrar, Straus & Giroux) av Wendy Lesser samt The Road to Middlemarch: My Life With George Eliot (Granta Books) Rebecca Mead.

O.W.

Lämna en kommentar

Under Artiklar